Vernadsky Medal

Summary of Award

The IAGC Vernadsky Medal can be awarded biennially to a single person for a distinguished record of scientific accomplishment in geochemistry over the course of a career. This award consists of a framed certificate, engraved medal, plus an article published in the IAGC Newsletter and posted on the IAGC website. The recipient’s acceptance speech and citationist’s remarks will be published in the Association journal, Applied Geochemistry. The IAGC will pay for the travel for the award recipient to the meeting where the award is conferred if the Treasurer determines that the Association has the financial resources to make this possible. The award recipient also will receive a complementary 1-year membership to IAGC for the year following receipt of the award.

Nomination Procedure

Email a completed IAGC Award Nomination Form to one of the Nomination Committee Members and cc the IAGC Business Manager at Nominations are due on December 31, 2023.

Previous Winners

Name Institution Year Newsletter Announcement
Susan BrantleyPennsylvania State University - USA2022Number 76, July 2022
Yousif K. Kharaka
US Geological Survey - USA
2022Number 76, July 2022
Jacques Schott Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées - FRANCE 2018 Number 68, August 2018
Ian Hutcheon University of Calgary - CANADA 2014 Number 60, May 2014
Robert Berner Yale University - USA 2012 Number 56, May 2012
Mike Edmunds Oxford University - UK 2010 Number 52, June 2010
Bjorn Bolviken Geological Survey of NORWAY 2008 Number 49, November 2008
Fred Mackenzie University of Hawaii - USA 2007 Number 47, November 2007

©2021 International Association of GeoChemistry

275 Mendenhall Laboratory | 125 South Oval Mall | Columbus, OH 43210 | +1 614-688-7400

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software