Environmental Geochemistry Working Group (ISEG)

Working Group Summary

The International Symposium on Environmental Geochemistry (ISEG) was started in the late 1980s. The initial local symposium on environmental geochemistry was held in Finland. After that, discussions came up in Uppsala,
Sweden to organise a regular international symposium series on ‘Environmental Geochemistry.’ The discussion between Olle Selinus of Linneaus University, Sweden (formerly Geological Society of Sweden) and Prof. Mats Olsson of the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences in Uppsala led to the first truly international ISEG symposium. No organisation was behind this conference, but from the beginning a core group of three geochemical scientists provided leadership to these symposia: Prof. Iain Thornton, Ron Fuge and Olle Selinus. It was decided that the ISEG symposia would be held every 3 years resulting in meetings on almost every continent since 1991:

Sweden 1991
Poland 1994
United States 1997
South Africa 2000
United Kingdom 2003
China 2006
Brazil 2009
Portugal 2012
Galway, Ireland 2016

Despite the popularity of the ISEG symposia, they never had the support of any formal organization or association. Beginning in 2013, the IAGC became the official society sponsor of this very popular series. The ISEG is also sponsored by:

Contact Information

Ron Fuge
Aberystwyth University, Wales, UK

Olle Selinus
Linneaus University, Kalmar, Sweden


©2021 International Association of GeoChemistry

275 Mendenhall Laboratory | 125 South Oval Mall | Columbus, OH 43210 | +1 614-688-7400


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software