Ingerson International Lecturer

Summary of Award

Support for the Ingerson International Lecturer is based on a bequest by Dr. Earl Ingerson, first President of
the Association. An IAGC Ingerson International Lecturer is selected every 2 years. The lecture is scheduled either at an International Geological Congress, at a suitable scientific meeting organized by an IAGC Working Group, or at some other prestigious international/national meeting of another scientific society during the second year after an International Geological Congress. Additional Lectures may be held in intervening years for special reasons (e.g. an important international conference). This award consists of a certificate and a complementary 1-year membership to IAGC for the year following receipt of the award, if not already an IAGC member. IAGC will pay for the travel of the award recipient to the meeting where the lecture is delivered, if the IAGC Treasurer determines that the Association has the financial resources to make this possible. The Lecturer shall be available during the 2 years following the presentation of the Ingerson International Lecture for seminars at academic and research institutions on the basis of expenses-paid invitation and it is expected that the Lecturer will prepare and publish an article in the Association Journal, Applied Geochemistry, during his/her term as Lecturer.

Nomination Procedure

Nomination for the Ingerson International Lecturer is made by the Vice President based on nominations
received from members of the IAGC Board.

Previous Recipients

Name Institution Year Newsletter Announcement
Martine M. SavardGeological Survey of Canada - CANADA2022
Number 76, July 2022
François Chabaux Université de Strasbourg - FRANCE 2019 Number 69, November 2018
W. Berry Lyons The Ohio State University - USA 2013 Number 57, November 2012
Kirk Nordstrom US Geological Survey - USA 2009 Number 50, May 2009
Balz Kamber Laurentian University - CANADA 2006 Number 46, May 2007
Mike Edmunds Oxford University - UK 2006 Number 46, May 2007
S. Moorbath Oxford University - UK 2004 Number 40, April 2004
Blair Jones US Geological Survey - USA 2002 Number 37, March 2002
Umberto Cordani University of Sao Paulo - BRAZIL 2000 Number 34, November 2000
Denis M. Shaw McMaster University - CANADA 1998 Number 31, July 1998
Akimasa Masuda U of Electro-Communications - JAPAN 1996 Number 29, November 1996
Hans Wedepohl Gottingen University - GERMANY 1994 Number 27, November 1994
A A Levinson University of Calgary - CANADA 1992 Number 25, September 1992
A E Ringwood   1987 Number 19 - December, 1986

©2021 International Association of GeoChemistry

275 Mendenhall Laboratory | 125 South Oval Mall | Columbus, OH 43210 | +1 614-688-7400

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software