contact site map search
IAGC - International Association of GeoChemistry
Excellence in Review, Applied Geochemistry

Summary of Award

Since the founding of Applied Geochemistry in 1986, many outstanding reviewers have helped shape our Society's journal and our success as a Society. We are indebted to those contributions, and beginning in November 2020, we are highlighting the reviewers who deserve extra recognition. The editorial board of Applied Geochemistry launched our annual “Excellence in Review Award” to recognize the dedicated community of expert reviewers inside and out of our organization. Each awardee will receive a digital certificate, promotion in IAGC materials, and a complimentary 2-year membership in the IAGC.

Nomination Procedure

The Excellence in Review Award is based on nomination by Editors of Applied Geochemistry. In the inaugural year of this award (2020), Associate Editors nominated outstanding reviewers based on the last five years, but the awards in the following years aim to recognize contributions during only the previous year. Given the relatively small number of total papers published each year, the best way for reviewers to impress editors is through thoroughness, thoughtfulness, and quality reviews, rather than the quantity. We are confident that our journal’s dynamic community will make this award sustainable and a great means to engage our reviewers. In a few years, we will consider establishing a “Super Reviewer Award” to recognize reviewers who consistently make impressive contributions to the journal over multiple years.

Name Institution Year Newsletter Announcement
Achim Albrecht Andra Research and Development, France 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Juan Antelo University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Antonella Buccianti University of Florence, Italy 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Ian Burke University of Leeds, UK 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Jordi Cama Institute of Environmental Assessment and Water Research IDAEA, Barcelona, Spain 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Jinli Cui Guangzhou University, China 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Walter D'Alessandro National Institute of Geophysics and Volcanology, Italy 2020 Number 73, December 2020
W. George Darling British Geological Survey, UK 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Elisabeth Eiche Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Qinghai Guo China University of Geosciences (Wuhan), China 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Jennifer Harkness US Geological Survey, USA 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Helge Hellevang University of Oslo, Norway 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Guanxing Huang Institute of Hydrogeology and Environmental Geology, Chinese Academy of Geological Sciences, China 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Wolfram Kloppmann Bureau des Recherches Géologiques et Minières, Orléans, France 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Peng Liao Institute of Geochemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Bernhard Mayer University of Calgary, Canada 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Zezhen Pan École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Daniele Pinti Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Pauline Smedley British Geological Survey, UK 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Ondra Sracek Palacky University, Czech Republic 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Yukio Tachi Japan Atomic Energy Agency, Japan 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Marion Tichomirowa Technical University Bergakademie Freiberg, Germany 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Joanne Vanderzalm CSIRO Land and Water, Glen Osmond, Australia 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Avner Vengosh Duke University, USA 2020 Number 73, December 2020
David Vinson University of North Carolina-Charlotte, USA 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Sue Welch The Ohio State University, USA 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Paul Wersin University of Bern, Switzerland 2020 Number 73, December 2020
Erich Wieland Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland 2020 Number 73, December 2020

 

©2010 International Association of GeoChemistry
275 Mendenhall Laboratory | 125 South Oval Mall | Columbus, OH 43212 | +1 614-688-7400